The Renaissance castle from 1573 is especially known for the detailed terracotta decorations on the facade. Currently, the 16th century building is undergoing extensive renovation. The castle can be visited on guided tours during events such as the Open Monument Day.
The original building of the Gadebuz Renaissance castle was a Slavic ring-wall castle, which has been proved in this place for the 8th century. The Godebuz castle was under Obodritic rule. From 1200 to 1204 the castle was under Danish occupation and then in the 13th century it was rebuilt into a solid brick castle with a detached stone keep. From 1283 to 1299 the castle was the main residence of Mecklenburg princes. The nearby castle lake also takes its name from this period.
In 1945, the Barber-Lyashchenko Agreement (exchange of land between the British and the Soviet Union) was signed here. After 1945, the buildings were used as a museum, boarding school and later for administration.
The castle is currently being renovated. Visitors can see it during special events and guided tours. The Gadebusch museum complex at the foot of the castle hill provides information about the history of the castle and the town. The museum courtyard overlooking the castle lake is also particularly inviting.