In its present form, the church of Carlow is a neo-Gothic cross-rib-vaulted brick building, with a transept and a tower visible from afar in the west.
The chancel of the church dates back to around 1260 and was built in the period of transition from Romanesque to early Gothic as a granite ashlar building. The vault of the chancel is built like a dome. The final stone hangs down. This stone is unique for this area. The chancel of the old church was later incorporated into the new building.In 1884, the associated nave was demolished. The chancel is to be included in the new building. The new building is a neo-Gothic brick construction, with a single nave in the shape of a cross. The organ (2 manuals, pedal, 14 stops) was built in 1888 by the Schwerin court organ builder Friedrich Friese.