Looking over the shoulder of the mustard millers - guided tour and explanation

1/11/24 to 11/14/24 in Schlemmin

The mustard makers from Schlemmin Ivonne and Michael Kostross, © Senfmühle Schlemmin

free of charge
for free

Book ticket

The next dates:

  • Thursday, Feb 22, 202414:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 27, 202414:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 29, 202414:00 - 14:30 clock
display all other dates
Guided Tours & Tours, Culinary

The mustard from the mustard mill in Schlemmin is cold-ground in a stone mill. This traditional grinding process preserves the essential mustard oils and the mustard tastes just like in grandmother's day. Followed by a mustard tasting.

Why does mustard from a traditional mustard mill taste different from industrial mustard? Where do the mustard seeds come from? Are there different mustard plants? What color is the mustard flower? Why do they use a stone mill in Schlemmin? Learn all about the special features of mustard production and taste it! Afterwards, we recommend a walk in the adjacent Schlemmin Castle Park and a coffee break at the Brodovan bakery.

In our mustard mill in the beautiful village of Schlemmin, we grind unpeeled, non-deoiled mustard using the cold grinding method with a 1000 kg stone mill. This particularly gentle traditional grinding process preserves all the essential oils. A total of around 30 different types of mustard, ranging from sweet to spicy, from mild to piquant, from fruity to spicy, are made with love.

Out of conviction, we only use natural ingredients. We attach great importance to regionality and process German mustard seeds, the best spices, herbs and fruit as well as rock salt without anti-caking agents. A specialty in our production are special fruit mustards, which go perfectly with cheese or salmon or round off salad dressings. But sea buckthorn and black beer mustard for perfect barbecue enjoyment also find their fans. To ensure environmentally friendly production, the stone mill is powered by natural electricity.

In addition to the guided tour and explanation at 2 p.m., you can also watch us at work from Tuesday to Saturday (except public holidays) from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. through a large glass window, taste mustard and also buy it. On Tuesday and Thursday you can meet us at the Rügen market in Thiessow at the harbor (May-October, 9 am - 4 pm), on Wednesday and Saturday in Wieck on the Darß and 4 weeks in November/December at the Christmas market in Braunschweig.

In winter, the guided tour may be canceled occasionally, as we have to set up and dismantle the Christmas markets, take inventory or other things are more important. If you want to come to Schlemmin from November to April for the guided tour, please call in advance to see if it is taking place.

Picture gallery

Good to know

Prices

free event

Event dates
  • Thursday, Jan 11, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 16, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jan 18, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 23, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jan 25, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 30, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 1, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 6, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 8, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 13, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 15, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 20, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 22, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 5, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 7, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 12, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 14, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 19, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 21, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 26, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 28, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 2, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 4, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 9, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 11, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 16, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 18, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 25, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 30, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, May 2, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, May 9, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, May 16, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, May 23, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 28, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, May 30, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 4, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 6, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 11, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 13, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 18, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 20, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 25, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 27, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 2, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 4, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 9, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 11, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 16, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 18, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 23, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 25, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 30, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 1, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 6, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 8, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 13, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 15, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 20, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 22, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 27, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 29, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 3, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 5, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 10, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 12, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 17, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 19, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 24, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 26, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 1, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 3, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 8, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 10, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 15, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 17, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 22, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 24, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 29, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 31, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 5, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 7, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 12, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 14, 2024 14:00 - 14:30 clock
Event Location

Schlemmin mustard mill

Hauptstraße 12
18320 Schlemmin


senfausmv@yahoo.com
+4938225-519736
http://www.steinmühlensenf.de
Contact the organiser

Schlemmin mustard mill

Hauptstraße 12
18320 Schlemmin


senfausmv@yahoo.com
+4938225-519736
http://www.steinmühlensenf.de

Events

in the regions Fischland-Darß-Zingst, Vorpommern

© Louis Douzette

Today to 9/25/24

Louis Douzette (1834 - 1924) "The Magician of the Night - between Romanticism and Impressionism".

Read more: "Louis Douzette (1834 - 1924) "The Magician of the Night - between Romanticism and Impressionism"."
© MeerSEIN Akademie

1/12/24 to Tomorrow

Seminar The labyrinth "Your path in life"

Read more: "Seminar The labyrinth "Your path in life""
© Peter Rensch

12/3/23 to 3/18/24

Inventory: natural

Read more: "Inventory: natural"