Hanomag safari: Jasmund Peninsula "On the trail of the Stone Age and the Cretaceous".

5/1/24 to 10/30/24 in Sassnitz

Your rustic travel vehicle - a Hanomag, © Volker Barthmann

89.00 €

p. Erw.

The next dates:

  • Tuesday, Jul 16, 202410:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jul 17, 202410:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jul 20, 202410:30 - 15:30 clock
display all other dates
Guided Tours & Tours, Nature

Experience on a Hanomag safari the primeval forest of the Jasmund National Park, the chalk coast with the famous Wissower Klinken (Caspar-David-Friedrich), the new World Heritage Forum, a megalithic tomb with Stone Age weapons and tools, a huge unknown chalk lake and the current chalk open-cast mining and as the last highlight a real sacrificial stone with blood channel.

Those who take a trip with Volker Barthmann can experience something. The head of Hanomag-Tours and certified nature and landscape guide brings technology- and nature-loving guests closer to the island's special features in the Hanomag. This is a group truck with 12 seats, 70 hp and originally manufactured by Hannoversche Maschinenbau AG. There it goes over cobblestone roads across the Jasmund National Park. The eyes are caught by fallen trees. Short break at the World Heritage Forum to explain the idea of the national park. On foot we walk to the remains of the Wissower Klinken and further along the high shore. The view stretches far across the Baltic Sea. The water is as smooth as glass. Sailboats and ferries pass by. The sea shimmers turquoise blue, the chalk cliffs snow-white from fresh break-offs. The sun's rays perfectly set off the steep cliffs. The lush green of the beeches and the blue sky with its absorbent cotton clouds look picturesque. At a vantage point, Volker Barthmann stops and hands out homemade sea buckthorn liqueur to his guests. Yes, this is how they know the chalk coast from postcards. At the same time, he says what he loves so much about Rügen: the nature, the originality, the colors. The native of Flensburg tells of the formation of the rocks; of recurring demolitions; of romantics such as painter Caspar David Friedrich, who found inspiration here.
The next stop is a Neolithic megalithic tomb at the Waldhalle, one of the oldest structures in Germany. Here you can touch history. Volker Barthmann takes out weapons and tools such as axes and blades. After more than two hours, he steers the Hanomag and its crew to his nature experience camp near Sassnitz. Lunchtime. What always goes? Pea soup with bread and bockwurst, coffee, cold drinks. Volker Barthmann is also responsible for running the 20,000-square-meter camp on the edge of the Jasmund National Park. Originally built as a pioneering operational camp for the Hohenwarte pumped-storage power plant, he now makes huts and meadows available to civilization refugees as accommodation. Those who come here appreciate the simple life. More nature is not possible. The nearest neighbor is far away, as are restaurants and shopping facilities. Quietness is important to him. Children's noise? It doesn't have to be.
With a full belly, the Hanomag tour participants continue on to the chalk lake near Dargast, a disused open-cast chalk mine that has since been reclaimed by nature. Rare plants bloom at the edge of the shore. At the active chalk open pit Promoisel Volker Barthmann knows about the history of chalk and its uses. At the Quoltitz sacrificial stone, a huge granite boulder north of the village of Neddesitz near Sagard, he can tell legendary tales. Steaming blood from sacrificial animals and humans is said to have been drained through a channel about 12 centimeters wide. After six hours, the tour over Jasmund ends, which no one is guaranteed to forget so quickly.

Dates: From May to October every Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday (for groups of 6 full payers or more individual dates, times and tours possible, also out of season).
Start: 10:30 a.m. Nature Experience Camp Birkengrund (car drivers) or 10:45 a.m. Sassnitz bus station (bus drivers) (pick-up from Haus des Gastes in Binz at 10:00 a.m. possible, surcharge 20 € p.p.)
Duration: approx. 5-6 hours
Cost: 89 €/adult, 35 €/children (up to 12 years) [at the tour only cash payment possible!].
Registration required by phone 0171 74 30 964 or e-mail
Minimum number of participants: 5 persons
Tour leader: Certified nature and landscape guide Volker Barthmann

Picture gallery

Good to know

Prices

89.00 € p. Erw.

Event dates
  • Wednesday, May 1, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, May 4, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, May 11, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, May 18, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, May 25, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, May 28, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, May 29, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jun 1, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 4, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jun 5, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jun 8, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 11, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jun 12, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jun 15, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 18, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jun 19, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jun 22, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 25, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jun 26, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jun 29, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 2, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jul 3, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jul 6, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 9, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jul 10, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jul 13, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 16, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jul 17, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jul 20, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 23, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jul 24, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Jul 27, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 30, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Jul 31, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Aug 3, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 6, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 7, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Aug 10, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 13, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 14, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Aug 17, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 20, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 21, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Aug 24, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 27, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 28, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Aug 31, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 3, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 4, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Sep 7, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 10, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 11, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Sep 14, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 17, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 18, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Sep 21, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 24, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 25, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Sep 28, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 1, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 2, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Oct 5, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 8, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 9, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Oct 12, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 15, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 16, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Oct 19, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 22, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 23, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Saturday, Oct 26, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 29, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 30, 2024 10:30 - 15:30 clock
Event Location

Nature experience camp Birkengrund

Ferienheim Birkengrund 1
18546 Sassnitz


info@naturerlebniscamp-ruegen.de
+49 171 7430964
http://www.naturerlebniscamp-ruegen.de
Contact the organiser

Hanomag Tours

Ferienheim Birkengrund 1
18546 Sassnitz


info@hanomag-tours.de
0171 7430964

Events

in the region Island of Rügen

© Nationalpark-Zentrum KÖNIGSSTUHL

7/1/24 to 10/31/24

Short tour for young and old

Read more: "Short tour for young and old"
© Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Museum

7/2/24 to 10/31/24

Theme show: Visual axes: E.M. Arndt and C.D. Friedrich

Read more: "Theme show: Visual axes: E.M. Arndt and C.D. Friedrich"

6/5/24 to 8/28/24

Pilates on the beach

Read more: "Pilates on the beach"