The smoke house in Göhren was built around 1720 and is thus one of the oldest buildings on the island. From the vernacular the Rookhus got the name "sugar loaf" because of its low cane roof.
The "Rookhus", built around 1720, with its low-pitched cane roof - popularly known as a sugar loaf - is a true architectural gem of great rarity value. After all, the picturesque little half-timbered house is one of the oldest houses and the last surviving chimney-less smoke house on Rügen. The smoke coming from the open hearth went out through the plank gate and the openings in the roof ridge. In a vivid way, the museum provides insight into the simple living and working conditions of small farmers and fishermen who lived in the house with their tools and livestock in the smallest space under one roof. A Biedermeier ornamental garden and an exhibition on fishing on Mönchgut complete the presentation.