Amber hike - In search of the gold of the sea

11/2/23 to 12/26/24 in Prerow

Amber hike with nature guide Martin Hagemann, © Carolyne Parent

22.00 €

per adul.
Book ticket

The next dates:

  • Thursday, May 30, 202409:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 6, 202409:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 13, 202409:00 - 12:00 clock
display all other dates
Guided Tours & Tours, Hiking, Nature, Outdoor Activity

A guided beach hike with certified nature and landscape guide Martin Hagemann

Finding amber and other treasures of the sea

With autumn come the storms and with the storms comes the gold of the sea washed up on the beaches. Several tens of millions of years old, amber has captivated people for thousands of years. Already in the Stone Age amber has been processed into jewelry. And we can find it here on the Baltic Sea ...
Of course, such a storm cannot be ordered for a guided tour, which freshly throws enough collecting objects on the beach. But maybe we can find some crumbs from the last storm. In any case, I'll show you where and how to look. In addition, there are many interesting & interesting facts about the stone, which shines in many colors.
But besides amber there are many other beautiful things to discover at the sinks. What at first sight are only stones, may turn out to be a beautiful fossil or a chicken god. Glass shards, beautifully patinated to "sea glass" by the abrasion of the surf movements, are not simply civilization garbage, but tell their origin stories with their shape and color. And how exactly do the shells live, whose shells we find in various colors, shapes and sizes on the beach? Let's go on a discovery tour together at the suds!

Date: every Thursday (from 6 persons & with suitable weather) at 9 o'clock (duration: approx. 3 h, the hike ends at the emergency port Darßer Ort; way back either on the beach or through the forest by foot (approx. 45 min) or with the Darßbahn; the lighthouse Darßer Ort is likewise attainable in approx. 45 min, from there possibility of the return with the horse carriage)

Meeting point: 18375 Baltic resort Prerow, parking lot Bernsteinweg Ost (directly at the beach access Bernsteinweg, in the bend on the right) [We recommend arriving on foot or by bike. Since June 2021 there are only day tickets for 12 € at the parking machine (in the off-season 7,50 €), no more hourly parking. This applies to all parking spaces in the city].

Tour leader: Martin Hagemann (certified nature and landscape guide)

Cost: 22 € per person, children 7 - 18 years 11 €. The price includes vouchers for free admission to the German Amber Museum in Ribnitz-Damgarten (valid for 1 year) and for an amber on a leather strap (per family) from the amber foam manufactory of the OSTSEE-SCHMUCK GmbH in Ribnitz-Damgarten!

Registration: by e-mail or by phone at 0152 57 55 46 00 or online booking.

Picture gallery

Good to know

Prices

22.00 € per adul.

Event dates
  • Thursday, Nov 2, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 9, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 23, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 30, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 7, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 14, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 21, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 28, 2023 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jan 4, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jan 11, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jan 18, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jan 25, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 1, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 8, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 15, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 22, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 7, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 14, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 21, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Mar 28, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 4, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 11, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 18, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Apr 25, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, May 2, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, May 9, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, May 16, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, May 23, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, May 30, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 6, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 13, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 20, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jun 27, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 4, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 11, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 18, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Jul 25, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 1, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 8, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 15, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 22, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Aug 29, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 5, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 12, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 19, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Sep 26, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 3, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 10, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 17, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 24, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Oct 31, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 7, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 14, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 21, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Nov 28, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 5, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 12, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 19, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
  • Thursday, Dec 26, 2024 09:00 - 12:00 clock
Event Location

Parking lot Bernsteinweg

Bernsteinweg
18375 Prerow


Contact the organiser

Events

in the region Fischland-Darß-Zingst

© Kreativ-Studio-K

10/19/23 to 12/19/24

Painting course "Painting time

Read more: "Painting course "Painting time"
© ostsee-kuestenbilder.de

5/23/24 to 9/26/24

Summer market in Ahrenshoop

Read more: "Summer market in Ahrenshoop"
© Neues Kunsthaus Ahrenshoop / Künstlerhaus Lukas

3/24/24 to 6/3/24

Young art from Northern Europe

Read more: "Young art from Northern Europe"