Although the Kummer mill is the tallest building in the village, you have to look a little closer to discover it. It is located somewhat off the main roads, well hidden behind huge trees, and is therefore often not even noticed by people passing through.
The Kummer windmill was built around 1880. Three years later it was bought by the wandering journeyman miller Fritz Höppner, whose family still owns the structure today. What is special about it is that the brick round tower stands on an octagonal base. This clearly sets the Turmholländerwindmühle apart from other mills in northern Germany.
Since the mill business was no longer profitable enough at the beginning of the 20th century, the miller at the time had a steam sawmill built right next to the mill, which was connected to the mill operation. More and more, the sawmill developed from a sideline to a main operation, with the consequence that wind power was no longer used and the operation was completely converted to electric power. In 1988, the operation of the mill was completely stopped and the building was used only as a warehouse. After extensive external restoration in 2005, the mill is, at least externally, complete again. The now wingless structure was given back its wind rose and also the decorative wings, but without function.