The Mönchgut Museum Farm is the oldest and largest open-air museum on Rügen. While the residential building was built around 1850, the core of the half-timbered barn dates back to around 1680, making it one of the oldest buildings on Rügen.
The Mönchgut Museum Farm, the oldest and largest open-air museum on Rügen, consists of a complete farmstead with a residential building (currently the museum management and administration, no visitors possible!), stable barn, wagon barn and pigsty. The farmstead is documented from 1574. The oldest parts of the barn date back to around 1680. After being bought out of serfdom in 1847, the farm with its 17.5 hectares of arable land was farmed by a full-time farmer, fisherman and pilot. Today, farming and craftsmen's tools, agricultural machinery, wagons, carriages and sledges provide impressive evidence of the arduous everyday life of the Mönchgut fishermen and craftsmen. The exhibition focuses on farming and harvesting, beekeeping and milk processing as well as traditional house building. The herb and flower garden underlines the unique charm of the farmstead.