Adventure flair comes up in the small village Conow, if you go a little out of the place and come across the old fieldstone ruin. Almost inaccessible during the GDR era, the historic site now once again invites interested visitors.
Until the year 1440 there existed another Conow than the present one. Due to a territorial war between Brandenburg and Mecklenburg, numerous settlements in southern Mecklenburg were abandoned, among which Conow fell. However, a new village was rebuilt in the immediate vicinity of the old one. Today, the ruins of the old church, one of the best preserved in the region, bear witness to the deserted village. The ruin dates back to the 14th century and, like many buildings of that time, was built from the building material that was available in masses: field stones. These were stacked inside a wooden shell and fixed with lime paste. With this method of construction, a 9 by 17 meter church was built (without a tower), which still defies nature today. Even though large brick churches were already being built at that time, people in rural regions still relied on this ancient way of building. If only because the technique of brick burning was not known here. After the old village was destroyed, the inhabitants used the bricks of the abandoned buildings as a quarry for material for a long time, so that many parts of the walls no longer exist or exist only in remnants. During the GDR period, the church ruins were almost forgotten. Undisturbed in this way, nature was able to make the area its own again to a large extent. Only after the church ruin was released by ABM measures under overgrowing undergrowth, it can be visited again. Every year it provides a picturesque backdrop for concerts, which usually take place in August.