The very name Wittenburg indicates that there must have been a castle here once. This was destroyed in 1150 by Henry the Lion and replaced by a new castle complex, on the foundation of which the office tower was built in 1848.
The late medieval gate tower of the formerly massive castle complex is the only part of the historical complex that has been preserved, apart from some remains that are still visible today. This is part of the neoclassical official building erected in 1848, which gave the hill its present name. The ruins of the tower were renovated in 1998. Here and in the local history room right next to the tower, visitors can learn about the town's history. There are also regularly changing exhibitions on the glazed viewing level. The surrounding park is also worth a visit.