The 180ha English landscape park surrounding Schlitz Castle was designed by the owner himself, Count Hans von Schlitz.
Many impressions can be gathered during an extended walk through the park, which is situated in a hilly landscape. It is a journey into the past, into the times of romanticism and enlightenment. The park was equipped by Count von Schlitz with 36 monuments and memorials - among others in the form of obelisks, columns and grottoes, some of which have inscriptions. The entire complex is an excellent reflection of the time in which it was laid out.
To the north of the castle is the neo-Gothic chapel from 1822, which gives the park a picturesque ambience. Outstanding exhibits include the Nymph Fountain with three dancing girls cast in bronze, created by Walter Schott in 1903, and a group of two playing bears by Emil Manz, cast in bronze in 1939. A copy of the Nymph Fountain can be found in New York's Central Park.
A guided walking tour is recommended, during which visitors will learn a wealth of interesting facts and insights.