Inca: Retrospective of half a century

3/4/24 to 5/28/24 in Bergen auf Rügen

© Stadtmuseum Bergen auf Rügen/Stadt Bergen auf Rügen

The next dates:

  • Monday, Apr 15, 202411:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 16, 202411:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 17, 202411:00 o'clock
display all other dates
Exhibition

The new special exhibition presents portraits, reverse glass paintings, conceptual and figurative works by the contemporary painter Inka.

From March 4 to May 28, 2024, the Bergen auf Rügen City Museum will be showing a cross-section of the unmistakable and versatile art of contemporary painter Inka. With her works, she draws the viewer into a world of lightness, power and dancing colors. The special exhibition "Inka: Retrospective of half a century" includes exhibits from five decades. Mixed media works on paper, reverse glass paintings, material collages and life-size, flat statues document her work. The most recent exhibits in the solo show are mixed media works in oil and acrylic on canvas.

Two striking features characterize Inka's art: on the one hand, the radiant sun as a symbol of joy and a life-affirming attitude, and on the other, her preference for delicate and ornamental details. Inka's versatility is not only evident in her choice of motifs, but also in her confident handling of different materials such as canvas, paper, glass and porcelain. She creates colorful creations and affordable works of art by painting ready-mades and ostrich eggs in an appealing way.

Originally from the area near Stuttgart, Inka began studying art in free painting after her giftedness exam. However, she found her unique style outside of academia. Visiting numerous distant countries inspired her again and again and continues to influence her work. Rügen has been the center of her life since 2006.

Inka's work has been presented internationally in over 50 exhibitions, including in Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Tokyo and Miami.

Picture gallery

Good to know

Event dates
  • Monday, Mar 4, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 5, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 6, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 7, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 8, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Mar 11, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 12, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 13, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 14, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 15, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Mar 18, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 19, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 20, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 21, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 22, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Mar 25, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 26, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 27, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 28, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 29, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Apr 1, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 2, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 3, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 4, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 5, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Apr 8, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 9, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 10, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 11, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 12, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Apr 15, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 16, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 17, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 18, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 19, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Apr 22, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 25, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 26, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Monday, Apr 29, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 30, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 1, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 2, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 3, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Monday, May 6, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 9, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 10, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Monday, May 13, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 16, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 17, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Monday, May 20, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 23, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 24, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Monday, May 27, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, May 28, 2024 10:00 o'clock
Event Location

City Museum Bergen on Rügen

Billrothstraße 20a
18528 Bergen auf Rügen


museum@stadt-bergen-auf-ruegen.de
03838252226
Contact the organiser

City Museum Bergen on Rügen

Billrothstraße 20a
18528 Bergen auf Rügen


museum@stadt-bergen-auf-ruegen.de
03838252226

Events

in the region Island of Rügen

© Kurverwaltung Goehren / Goldbutt

Tomorrow

Welcoming guests to the host week

Read more: "Welcoming guests to the host week"
© TMV_Gänsicke

Tomorrow

Wanderfrühling 2024: Building soldiers

Read more: "Wanderfrühling 2024: Building soldiers"
Since June 10, 2017, the Bergen on Rügen City Museum has been displaying the magnificent exhibit, a replica of the Romanesque communion chalice - made in the goldsmith's workshop of Frank Neitmann, Bergen on Rügen., © Bildrecht: Stadtmuseum Bergen auf Rügen/ Stadt Bergen auf Rügen | Fotograf: Bernd Wiesenberg

1/1/24 to 4/30/24

"From the Stone Age to the City" in the City Museum Bergen on Rügen

Read more: ""From the Stone Age to the City" in the City Museum Bergen on Rügen"