Dharma Yoga for beginners:inside with Nico

11/15/22 to 3/5/24 in Gessin

photo_2022-11-09-183113

11.00 €

Sports, Wellness & Health

Dharma Yoga for beginners with Nico Always on Tuesday 18 - 19 clock From now on you can get to know Dharma Yoga with Nico every Tuesday. Please bring: comfortable clothes, bottle with water.

Dharma Yoga for beginners with Nico

Always on Tuesday 18 - 19 o'clock

From now on you can get to know Dharma Yoga with Nico every Tuesday.

Please bring: comfortable clothes, bottle with water.

About Dharma Yoga:
Dharma Yoga has its roots in all nine forms of yoga, but is essentially a system of classical Hatha-Raja Yoga. It focuses on the Eight Limbs of Yoga of Patanjali's Ashtanga Yoga system and emphasizes the Yamas and Niyamas. It is the lineage of Sri Dharma Mittra, a great living yogi who still teaches in NYC.

Dharma Yoga is based on Ahimsa - non-violence or love: love for ourselves, for others and for all living beings. Sri Dharma Mittra defines Ahimsa as not disturbing anyone's comfort. Respecting everyone. Everyone progresses on the path at their own pace.

Only when we are firmly grounded in Ahimsa do we develop what Sri Dharma Mittra considers the most important quality: Compassion. The highest form of compassion is to see ourselves in others. This is a sign of the beginning of self-realization. And the goal of yoga is self-realization: to realize that we are not the body, that we are not the mind, but a part of God or the Supreme Self, which is on the right side of the heart and is the same in every heart.

Dharma Yoga as an asana practice is a graceful and challenging practice. Most poses are held longer than in vinyasa practices, which adds a level of difficulty. However, it can still be a dynamic practice. Practitioners are encouraged to move gracefully in and out of the poses like a dancer. Unified movement is important: moving together to create a common mind or awareness. In this way, students support each other on a psychological level.

According to Sri Dharma Mittra, asana practice is said to bring "radiant health," physical strength, and freedom from all diseases. It stimulates the glands and can allow us to access the astral body by focusing on specific points in the body. It purifies the body and helps to calm the mind. But the asanas are only a preparation for meditation. They are not an end in themselves.

Teachers are encouraged to give only the essential cues for each posture and let students find their own practice, sometimes leaving space and silence in the room for students to go deeper into their practice. Another interesting point is that we always start with the left side of the body, except for the twists where we start on the right side.

Finally, and very importantly, Dharma Yoga is a practice of devotion. Sri Dharma Mittra constantly reminds us of the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita, that the highest form of spiritual practice is not meditation, but renunciation of the fruits of our actions. This is also true of asana practice. Sadhakas (spiritual aspirants) are encouraged to sacrifice each pose to the Supreme Self and to move beyond the expectation of results. Asana practice thus becomes karma yoga. This is also in line with the final niyama, Isvara Pranidhana, devotion to the Divine. This devotion allows us to experience liberation in each posture, which can give us a taste of meditation in asana practice.

Dharma Yoga weaves many teachings together to bring all students closer to the goal of self-realization. Dharma Yoga is "a devotional practice that emphasizes good health, a clear mind, and a kind heart."

Come and practice!

Picture gallery

photo_2022-11-09-183113

Good to know

Prices

11.00 €

Event dates
  • Tuesday, Nov 15, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 22, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 6, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 13, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 20, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 3, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 10, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 17, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 24, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 14, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 21, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 28, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 7, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 14, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 21, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 28, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 4, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 11, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 18, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 25, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, May 2, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, May 9, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, May 16, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, May 23, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 6, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 13, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 20, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jun 27, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 4, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 11, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 18, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jul 25, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 1, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 8, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 15, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 22, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 29, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 5, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 12, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 19, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 26, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 3, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 10, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 17, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 24, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 31, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 7, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 14, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 21, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Nov 28, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 5, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 12, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 19, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Dec 26, 2023 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 2, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 9, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 16, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 23, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Jan 30, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 6, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 13, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 20, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 5, 2024 18:00 - 19:00 clock
Event Location
Contact the organiser

Events

in the region Mecklenburg Schweiz

© Wildpark-MV

7/5/24 to 12/28/24

Wolf migration at dusk

Read more: "Wolf migration at dusk"
© Ines Baumgart

5/4/24 to 9/1/24

Exhibition: "Wool-White-Not"

Read more: "Exhibition: "Wool-White-Not""
© Didi01

9/8/22 to 9/26/24

Gessin game night

Read more: "Gessin game night"