Caspar David Friedrich. Places of longing

8/18/24 to 10/6/24 in Greifswald

© © Kunst Museum Winterthur | Reinhart am Stadtgarten

The next dates:

  • Sunday, Aug 18, 202410:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 20, 202410:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 21, 202410:00 o'clock
display all other dates
Exhibition

Chalk cliffs on Rügen & Greifswald harbor

The anniversary exhibition celebrating Caspar David Friedrich's birthday on September 5 will feature a real star guest: the masterpiece "Chalk Cliffs on Rügen". The world-famous painting, which is now at home in Winterthur, Switzerland, will be exhibited in the Pomeranian State Museum for seven weeks and for the first time ever in Friedrich's home region - a long-awaited meeting of painting and landscape after more than 200 years! In conjunction with other masterpieces by the artist, such as the depictions of the "Greifswald Harbour" and the "Eldena Ruins in the Giant Mountains", the exhibition opens up his "places of longing" in Swedish Pomerania and beyond. It is complemented by a homage to Friedrich by photographer Volkmar Herre, who presents the "chalk cliffs" and their attraction in a new light using the camera obscura.

Picture gallery

Good to know

Event dates
  • Sunday, Aug 18, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 20, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 21, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Aug 22, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Aug 23, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Aug 24, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Aug 25, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 27, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 28, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Aug 29, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Aug 30, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Aug 31, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 1, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 3, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 4, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 5, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 6, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 7, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 8, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 10, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 11, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 12, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 13, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 14, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 15, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 17, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 18, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 19, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 20, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 21, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 22, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 24, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 25, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 26, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 27, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 28, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 29, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 1, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 2, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Oct 3, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Oct 4, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Oct 5, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Oct 6, 2024 10:00 o'clock
Event Location

Pomeranian State Museum

Rakower Str. 9
17489 Greifswald


info@pommersches-landesmuseum.de
https://www.pommersches-landesmuseum.de
Contact the organiser

Pomeranian State Museum

Rakower Straße 9
17489 Greifswald


info@pommersches-landesmuseum.de
0383883120

Events

in the region Vorpommern

© Ostseemühle

1/11/24 to 12/21/24

Mill breakfast at the Ostseemühle

Read more: "Mill breakfast at the Ostseemühle"

3/22/24 to 11/3/24

Island of Hiddensee from Stralsund

Read more: "Island of Hiddensee from Stralsund"
© Tourismuszentrale Stralsund

3/8/24 to 10/31/24

Stralsund city tours

Read more: "Stralsund city tours"