We are a company with many years of experience in ship repairs. Special knowledge and skills are necessary to properly carry out the multitude of different orders in the repair and overhaul of dredgers, flushers, tugs, motor workboats, passenger ships and government vehicles. We have specialized experience in machining hulls made of steel, aluminum and fiberglass-reinforced plastics. With our 26 specialists from various professions, we have been able to respond to the needs and wishes of our customers in a timely manner. Due to the close combination of many years of professional practice and company-specific further training, our team is well prepared to solve demanding tasks. Since October 2010, we have a modern 180-ton lift system.
The Barth shipyard was founded on August 17, 1867 by J. Holzerland in Barth as the "Holzerland`sche Werft am Dammtor". At that time there were 5 shipyards in Barth, where more than 500 sailing ships were built in the 19th century. Under J. Holzerland, C. Holzerland sen. and C. Holzerland jun. more than 65 sailing ships, mostly gaff schooners, brigantines and barques as well as galleasses from 30 RT to 452 loads, i.e. lengths from 16 m to 40 m (over all), were built at this Holzerland shipyard from 1867 to 1936. The larger ships were brought to Stralsund lightered and fitted out there. The picture shows the launching of the three-masted gaff schooner "IRMGARD" in 1920 at the boatyard of master shipbuilder Carl Holzerland jun. in Barth. The client was J. Krüger from Stettin.
Since Mr. C. Holzerland Junior had no direct descendants, the shipyard was leased after 1945 to the master shipbuilder Gustav Sanitz, who after the war manufactured wooden cutters in addition to Zeesboote. In 1953 the VEB Bootsbau und Reparaturwerft Barth bought the shipyard from Margarete Kurzweil, the sister of C. Holzerland junior, duly and with a notarized contract. From 1953 to 1958, VEB Bootsbau und Reparaturwerft built more than 20 wooden cutters as reparations for the then Soviet Union and for fishing in Mecklenburg, including cutters with lengths of 12 m, 17 m, 21 m and 24 m (the SAS 251 and SAS 252).
Steel construction began in 1956 and flourished in the 1960s. Flushing and folding barges, tugs (including the tug "Buche") coastal boats, control boats (such as the sounding vessel "Baltic", which at 28.5 m was the longest self-propelled steel ship and is now used by the Water and Shipping Authority in Stralsund) and other special ships were built. In 1971, with the formation of the shipbuilding combine, the shipyard was assigned to VEB Schiffsanlagenbau Barth and was then allowed to carry out almost only ship repairs. The few new ships built in the 70s and 80s include 3 scullers for the Meliorationskombinat, the sculler "Barth" for BBB, type pontoons and barges for various shipowners.