The town of Neustadt-Glewe was first mentioned in 1248 and, in addition to the famous Neustadt Castle, also boasts a historic old town characterized by half-timbered buildings. A special highlight is the baroque town hall, which was completed in 1806 and extensively renovated in 1996.
The town hall was built in the period from 1802 to 1806 by the master mason Frey. The free-standing, completely plastered, half-timbered house in baroque style is located directly on the market square. In addition to the typical Baroque style elements, such as the segmental arches and looped bands under the windows and the small ornamental balcony above the entrance, the two-story building also has some Neoclassical elements, for example the triangular gable above the central part of the building. On the mansard roof of the town hall there is a so-called open lantern - a small tower-like attachment, which can be found on many baroque town halls. The tower clock inside it is equipped with a clockwork from 1900, which chimes every quarter of an hour. As part of the general urban renewal, the town hall was extensively renovated in 1996.
Marriage in Neustadt Glewe
Classic in the registry office in the town hall, medieval in the castle, ducal in the castle hotel or extravagant with lake view at the Barracuda Beach... there are many possibilities to get married in Neustadt-Glewe.