The Neubrandenburg Art Collection is the only museum of 20th and 21st century visual arts in the Mecklenburg Lake District. It offers two exhibition floors in an accessible air-conditioned baroque building with a new extension.
The two inventory exhibitions on the upper floor are shown year-round.
In the cabinet, the exhibition The Municipal Art Collection (1890-1945) can be seen. The Municipal Art Collection owes its foundation to Henry Stoll in 1890, it was significantly expanded by August Schmidt in 1911. In 1920 the Municipal Art Collection moved into the south wing of the Ducal Palace. At the end of April 1945, this palace burned down completely. Most of the art treasures were presumably removed shortly before, and their whereabouts have not been clarified to this day. In 2006, archaeological excavations on the market square recovered about 150 mostly shattered porcelains and fragments of small bronze sculptures that had survived the fire and the collapse of the palace. Several pieces, including numerous charming porcelain figures from Meissen, have already been restored.
Since its reestablishment in 1982, a collection of contemporary German art has been created, comprising some 7,500 works. Works with a highly sensual and emblematic expression, supported by a painterly sophistication, predominate. Currently on view in the exhibition Der glückliche Griff are paintings, objects and sculptures by, among others, Theo Balden, Jürgen Brodwolf, Angela M. Flaig, Wieland Förster, Bernd Hahn, Veit Hofmann, Hans Jüchser, Konrad Knebel, Bernd Kommnick, Michael Morgner, Herta Müller, Max Neumann, Otto Niemeyer-Holstein, Theodor Rosenhauer, Daniel Spoerri, Werner Stötzer, Strawalde, Karlheinz Wenzel and Michael Wirkner.
On the first floor, temporary exhibitions on predominantly contemporary positions are presented.