Caspar David Friedrich. Places of longing

8/18/24 to 10/6/24 in Greifswald

© Caspar David Friedrich, Kreidefelsen auf Rügen, 1818 © Kunst Museum Winterthur | Reinhart am Stadtgarten

The next dates:

  • Sunday, Aug 18, 2024o'clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 20, 2024o'clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 21, 2024o'clock
display all other dates
Exhibition, Naturally Romantic

Chalk cliffs on Rügen & Greifswald harbor

18.08. - 06.10.2024 The anniversary exhibition celebrating Caspar David Friedrich's birthday on September 5 will feature a real star guest: the masterpiece "Chalk Cliffs on Rügen". The world-famous painting, which is now at home in Winterthur, Switzerland, will be exhibited in the Pomeranian State Museum for seven weeks and for the first time ever in Friedrich's home region - a long-awaited meeting of painting and landscape after more than 200 years! In conjunction with other masterpieces by the artist, such as the depictions of the "Greifswald Harbour" and the "Eldena Ruins in the Giant Mountains", the exhibition opens up his "places of longing" in Swedish Pomerania and beyond. It is complemented by a homage to Friedrich by photographer Volkmar Herre, who presents the "chalk cliffs" and their attraction in a new light using the camera obscura. Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Ministry for Science, Culture, Federal and European Affairs of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the University and Hanseatic City of Greifswald - Office for Education, Culture and Sport, the Cultural Foundation of the Federal States, the Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung together with the Sparkasse Vorpommern Foundation with the help of PS Lottery Savings and the State of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern from the Fund for Vorpommern and Eastern Mecklenburg. Also by 250 Years of Caspar David Friedrich, University and Hanseatic City of Greifswald - Office for Education, Culture and Sport. With Caspar David Friedrich through the year 2024 - we are part of it!

Picture gallery

Good to know

Event dates
  • Sunday, Aug 18, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 20, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 21, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Aug 22, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Aug 23, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Aug 24, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Aug 25, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Aug 27, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Aug 28, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Aug 29, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Aug 30, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Aug 31, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 1, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 3, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 4, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 5, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 6, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 7, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 8, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 10, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 11, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 12, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 13, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 14, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 15, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 17, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 18, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 19, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 20, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 21, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 22, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Sep 24, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Sep 25, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Sep 26, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Sep 27, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Sep 28, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Sep 29, 2024 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Oct 1, 2024 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Oct 2, 2024 o'clock
  • Thursday, Oct 3, 2024 o'clock
  • Friday, Oct 4, 2024 o'clock
  • Saturday, Oct 5, 2024 o'clock
  • Sunday, Oct 6, 2024 o'clock
Event Location
Contact the organiser