Church "St. Stephen" to Swantow, © Tourismuszentrale Rügen
Churches

St. Stephen's Church is one of the oldest churches on the island of Rügen. Idyllically nestled in the small, original village of Swantow, it is home to a small but active and committed congregation.

In ancient times Swantow was an elongated village with a church, a parish, a sexton's office, a mill, four farms and two cottages. The Danish bishop Absalon of Roskilde is said to have baptized the first Christians of this area here. The place where the church stands is consecrated by him. In 1294 a church is mentioned for the first time, it is named Saint Stephen. The construction of the present church began in 1469 and it stands close to the place where the sacred grove of the Slavs used to be. The large boulders in the northern foundation could be parts of the place of worship. The oldest part of the church is the northern part, where the main entrance used to be. The old holy water basin indicates this. The present pulpit dates back to 1705, resting on a figure representing St. Peter, and belongs to a Baroque furnishing that dominated the space until the renovation at the beginning of the 80s of the last century. Then the chancel was redesigned with a simple mensa and a Gothic crucifixion group.
Since 1995 there has been the Förderverein Kirche Swantow e. V..

Picture gallery

Good to know

Contact

Kirche "St. Stephanus" zu Swantow (ev.)

Swantow 5
18574 Poseritz OT Swantow


info@kirche-swantow.de
http://www.kirche-swantow.de
Arrival

Your destination:
Kirche "St. Stephanus" zu Swantow (ev.)
Swantow 5
18574 Poseritz OT Swantow



Relaxed from door to door:

Plan your journey by public transport here.

Route planner:

Plan your journey by car here.

What's nearby?

To the map
Krimvitz manor house on the island of Rügen, © Gutshaus Krimvitz / Mirko Boy

Krimvitz manor house

  • Krimvitz, 18581 Putbus

The manor house was built in the middle of the 19th century and surrounded by a small well-kept park.

Read more: "Krimvitz manor house"
© STRALSUND MUSEUM

Naval museum Stralsund

  • Zur Sternschanze, 18439 Stralsund

The naval museum is located on the peninsula Dänholm.

Read more: "Naval museum Stralsund"
© Sebastian Götte

Harbour of Lauterbach

  • Freely accessible at any time
  • 18581 Lauterbach

Lauterbach municipal harbour is located on the Rügen Bay in the south-east of the island of Rügen. With the narrow-gauge railway " Racing Roland" at the Lauterbach pier, it is an ideal starting point for excursions across the island. Restaurants and cafés offer a wide range of culinary delights.

Read more: "Harbour of Lauterbach"
© TZ HST

Brick trench bridge - Rügen dam

  • Open today
  • Werftstraße / L296, 18439 Stralsund

The Rügen causeway is the first fixed trafficable crossing of the Strelasund, over which both the old B 96, the Stralsund-Sassnitz railroad line and a footpath and cycle path lead. It was completed in 1937.

Read more: "Brick trench bridge - Rügen dam"
© TZ HST

Dänholm Island

  • Freely accessible at any time
  • 18439 Stralsund

The island of Dänholm is a small island with a lot of history. Already used for military purposes under the Swedes, Dänholm was developed into the cradle of the Prussian Navy.

Read more: "Dänholm Island"
© TMV/Gohlke

Ernst Moritz Arndt House

  • Dorfstraße, 18574 Groß Schoritz

The place owes its special fame to the university professor, writer and publicist Ernst Moritz Arndt (1769 - 1860), who was born here.

Read more: "Ernst Moritz Arndt House"
© Störtebeker Braumanufaktur

Störtebeker Brewery Inn

  • Greifswalder Chaussee, 18439 Stralsund

The Störtebeker Braugasthaus in Stralsund offers regional specialties.

Read more: "Störtebeker Brewery Inn"
© TZ HST

Störtebeker Brewery

  • Open today
  • Greifswalder Chaussee, 18439 Stralsund

More than just a brewery - an experience In the Störtebeker Brewery Quarter, you can discover the world of brewing specialties for yourself on daily guided tours.

Read more: "Störtebeker Brewery"
© Gut Zicker

Manor house Zicker

  • Zicker, 18574 Zudar

On the Zudar peninsula on the island of Rügen, in an idyllic and child-friendly environment, 10 minutes from the Baltic Sea, lies this vacation paradise with 13 vacation apartments and extensive parkland.

Read more: "Manor house Zicker"
Our traditional 4-star hotel blends in harmoniously with the predominant brick architecture of the UNESCO World Heritage city., © Hotel Baltic/Henrike Schunck

arcona HOTEL BALTIC

  • Frankendamm, 18439 Stralsund

Charming hotel with a long-standing tradition in Stralsund, nestling perfectly in the prevailing brick architecture of the old town. Just a few steps from the historic town centre and harbour, the hotel features 127 comfortable rooms and 5 apartments, some with views of the Marienkirche (St. Mary's Church) or the Strelasund.

Read more: "arcona HOTEL BALTIC"
Üselitz Estate on the Island of Rügen, © Gut Üselitz / Ulrike Meutzner

Üselitz Estate

  • Üselitz, 18574 Poseritz

Vacation in one of the seven apartments or rent the entire manor house and estate park exclusively with family or friends. Gut Üselitz offers a wide range of opportunities for relaxing, unforgettable days in a secluded location steeped in nature and history.

Read more: "Üselitz Estate"
View of the exhibition area, © Tourismuszentrale Hansestadt Stralsund

NAUTINEUM - *TEMPORARILY CLOSED*

  • Temporarily closed
  • Zum Kleinen Dänholm, 18439 Stralsund

***The NAUTINEUM on the Stralsund Dänholm will be closed for visitors in 2022. The NAUTINEUM has been located on the island of "Kleiner Dänholm" between Stralsund and Rügen since 1999. Original large exhibits, including a historic fishing shed and the walk-in underwater laboratory HELGOLAND, provide an insight into marine research, fisheries, hydrology and sea waterways.

Read more: "NAUTINEUM - *TEMPORARILY CLOSED*"
Circus Putbus is surrounded by white classicist buildings in the traffic circle. In the center stands the 19 m high obelisk., © Tourismuszentrale Rügen

Circus Putbus

  • Circus, 18581 Putbus

The name Putbus is probably of Slavic origin and translates as "behind the lilac bush". In 1810 this place was developed by Prince Malte to a residence town in classicistic style with theater, pedagogy and white houses around the circus. A city from the drawing board with park and animal enclosure and rosebushes in front of every house.

Read more: "Circus Putbus"
© TMV/Gohlke

Tremt surf spot

  • Freely accessible at any time
  • 18519 Tremt

On east wind days Tremt is a popular shallow water spot on the Greifswalder Bodden. The entry area is a bit narrow, but you can do it on the water and on land really wide. A fat nozzle provides extra power in kites and sails.

Read more: "Tremt surf spot"
© Christats

Restaurant Christas

  • Open today
  • Am Querkanal, 18439 Stralsund

Fish, meat and vegan. A German restaurant directly in the harbor on the Strelasund

Read more: "Restaurant Christas"
to the list

Content is loaded