The impressive Parchim town hall with a unique town hall cellar dates back to the 14th century with its core substance.
The Parchim town hall rises impressively from the market square. It is a building with an impressive history and tradition. As the actual seat of administration, it was also the seat of a court, a supply depot for foreign troops, a horse stable, a barn and a wine cellar. The cellar, with its cross-ribbed vaults supported in the middle of the room by massive masonry octagonal pillars, still retains much of its former appearance. This Gothic town hall cellar is unparalleled far and wide.
The town hall is part of the European Route of Brick Gothic. Guided tours of the town hall for groups, especially school classes or kindergarten groups can be organized on request. As part of the costume tour "Pea Trail", the robber Vieting visits the town hall cellar.
Soon after becoming a town (mentioned in documents in 1225/26), Parchim built a town hall at the market place and the independent new town of Parchim, which was founded around 1246, also had its own town hall. After the unification of both parts of the town in 1282, the meetings of the councilmen took place in the town hall of the old town. In 1481 the town hall became the seat of the municipal financial administration. From 1667 to 1708, the town hall housed the Supreme Court of Mecklenburg, the Mecklenburg Land and Court Court. However, the city administration was mainly located in the newly built Ratsbude in 1669, which no longer exists today.
From the fall of 1818, the town hall served to house the High Court of Appeal for Mecklenburg-Schwerin and Mecklenburg-Strelitz. On 01.10.1840 the Mecklenburg High Court of Appeal was moved from Parchim to Rostock. Since then the town hall again became the seat of the administration and still is today. Between 1993 and 1998 the town hall was completely renovated.