"Do the seagulls sometimes think of me?"

2/1/24 to 4/27/24 in Bad Doberan

© Stadt- und Bädermuseum Bad Doberan

The next dates:

  • Tuesday, Feb 27, 202410:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Feb 28, 202410:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Feb 29, 202410:00 o'clock
display all other dates
Exhibition

The expulsion of Jewish bathers on the Baltic Sea.

With the rise of the seaside resorts in the Wilhelmine Empire, "spa anti-Semitism" also appeared on the scene. "Judenrein!" was the slogan long before the Nazi state became a reality. Based on the book of the same name by Kristine von Soden, selected texts by Else Lasker-Schüler, Victor Klemperer and Mascha Kaléko, for example, will be shown alongside historical documents and postcards, shedding light on both sides of everyday beach life: the natural beauty and relaxation of the Baltic Sea and the increasing anti-Semitic threat until 1937, when almost all Baltic Sea beaches were banned for Jewish visitors.

Curator: Dr. Kristine von Soden


 

Picture gallery

Good to know

Event dates
  • Thursday, Feb 1, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Feb 2, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Feb 3, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 6, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Feb 7, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Feb 8, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Feb 9, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Feb 10, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 13, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Feb 14, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Feb 15, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Feb 16, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Feb 17, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 20, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Feb 21, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Feb 22, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Feb 23, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Feb 24, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Feb 28, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 1, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 2, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 5, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 6, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 7, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 8, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 9, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 12, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 13, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 14, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 15, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 16, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 19, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 20, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 21, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 22, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 23, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 26, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 27, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 28, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 29, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 2, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 3, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 4, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 5, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 6, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 9, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 10, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 11, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 12, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 13, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 16, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 17, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 18, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 19, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 20, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 25, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 26, 2024 10:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 27, 2024 11:00 o'clock
Event Location

Bad Doberan City and Spa Museum, Möckelhaus

Beethovenstraße 8
18209 Bad Doberan


Contact the organiser

City and spa museum "Möckelhaus

Beethovenstraße 8
18209 Bad Doberan


stadtmuseum@moeckelhaus.de
03820362026

Events

in the region Baltic Coast Mecklenburg

1/24/24 to 12/18/24

Experience dance with Vitalitanz

Read more: "Experience dance with Vitalitanz"
© Foto von Randy Fath auf Unsplash

Tomorrow to 3/2/24

1st International Chess Open Graal-Müritz/Baltic Sea

Read more: "1st International Chess Open Graal-Müritz/Baltic Sea"
© Schifffahrtsmuseum Rostock

7/31/23 to 7/19/24

Exhibition REEDER, RUDER, SEEMANNSGARN

Read more: "Exhibition REEDER, RUDER, SEEMANNSGARN"