Gregor Hildebrandt

3/9/24 to 5/19/24 in Rostock

© Kunsthalle Rostock

The next dates:

  • Wednesday, Apr 24, 202411:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 25, 202411:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 26, 202411:00 o'clock
display all other dates
Exhibition

Close to the water

"Nah am Wasser" is the most extensive museum exhibition of the internationally renowned Berlin artist Gregor Hildebrandt.

Hildebrandt combines traditional materials such as cassette tapes, video cassettes or vinyl records with contemporary concepts and has created a fascinating, artistically rich oeuvre over the last few decades, which never seems complete, but always surprises. The thematic exhibition shows a selection of works from two decades, with the majority of the works capturing the aura of the sea, lagoon, lake or rain in their title or motif.

The wide range of artworks in the exhibition, presented through painting, sculpture and installation, constantly varies between figuration and abstraction, blurring the boundaries between reality and illusion.

The works, often titled with song lyrics, function as memory carriers on two levels. On the one hand, the material of the works themselves evokes memories of times gone by. On the other hand, the use of tapes or records with songs by The Cure, Element of Crime or Hildegard Knef creates associations with certain pieces of music and thus creates links to individual memories and cultural references.

The newly created work "Blue in Memory" will also be presented for the first time in the Kunsthalle's "White Cube". The installation, consisting of over 1,300 blue, individually crafted elements, is the artist's homage to one of Berlin's most prominent landmarks, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church.

With its luminous and expansive presence, the installation creates a place to reflect on recent history and at the same time establishes a connection between art and the symbolic significance of the Memorial Church. The installation thus becomes a space of remembrance that goes beyond the immediate visual. At the same time, "Blue in Memory" forges a link between the two cities, Berlin and Rostock, which have been shaped by major ruptures in their history.

Hildebrandt's works create a poetic atmosphere that invites the viewer to immerse themselves in the themes of transience, memory and change.

The exhibition is curated by Stephan Koal.

 

Picture gallery

Good to know

Event dates
  • Saturday, Mar 9, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Mar 10, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 12, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 13, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 14, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 15, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 16, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Mar 17, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 19, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 20, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 21, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 22, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 23, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Mar 24, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Mar 26, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Mar 27, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Mar 28, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Mar 29, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Mar 30, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Mar 31, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 2, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 3, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 4, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 5, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 6, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Apr 7, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 9, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 10, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 11, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 12, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 13, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Apr 14, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 16, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 17, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 18, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 19, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 20, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Apr 21, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, Apr 25, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, Apr 26, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, Apr 27, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, Apr 28, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, Apr 30, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 1, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 2, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 3, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, May 4, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, May 5, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 9, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 10, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, May 11, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, May 12, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Thursday, May 16, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Friday, May 17, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Saturday, May 18, 2024 11:00 o'clock
  • Sunday, May 19, 2024 11:00 o'clock
Event Location

Rostock Art Gallery

Hamburger Straße 40
18069 Rostock


kunsthalle@rostock.de
+49 381 3817000
https://www.kunsthallerostock.de/de
Contact the organiser

Rostock Art Gallery

Hamburger Straße 40
18069 Rostock


kunsthalle@rostock.de
03813817000

Events

in the region Baltic Coast Mecklenburg

Tomorrow

"Das Wasser am Hals" - Musical reading with Paul D. Bartsch (Halle)

Read more: ""Das Wasser am Hals" - Musical reading with Paul D. Bartsch (Halle)"
© Das AgenturHaus GmbH

Tomorrow

Hanseatic Show 2024

Read more: "Hanseatic Show 2024"
© TZ Wismar, Danny Winkler

Tomorrow to 4/26/24

St. Marien church tower - 3D film "Bruno Backstein", dialog of the spirit with light installation

Read more: "St. Marien church tower - 3D film "Bruno Backstein", dialog of the spirit with light installation"