Parchim Town Hall
Parchim's town hall rises impressively above the marketplace. It is a building with a remarkable history and tradition. There is nothing like its Gothic town hall cellar far and wide.
Parchim's impressive town hall, with its unique "Rathauskeller" ("town hall cellar"), dates back to the 14th century. It is now the town's administrative centre, but in the past it also housed a court, a ration store for foreign troops, horse stables, a barn and a wine cellar. The cellar with the ribbed vaults – supported in the middle by huge stone octagonal pillars – still has much of its old structure. There is nothing like this Gothic town hall cellar far and wide.
The town hall is part of the European Route of Brick Gothic. Guided tours of the town hall can be organised on request for groups, especially for school classes or kindergarten groups. The robber Vieting visits the town hall cellar as part of the costume tour "Erbsenspur" ("Pea Track ").
Soon after Parchim was founded (it was first mentioned in a document in 1225/26), Parchim built the town hall at the market place and the independent new town of Parchim also had its own town hall in 1246. After both districts were unified in 1282, the meetings of the councilmen took place in the town hall of the old town. Until 1840, the town hall was used to house the court of appeal for Mecklenburg-Schwerin and Mecklenburg-Strelitz. Since then, the town hall has been the centre of administration again. The town hall was completely renovated between 1993 and 1998.