The octagonal church Ludorf has an octagonal ground plan, which is unique in Northern Germany.
The church has an octagonal floor plan that is unique in northern Germany. According to a local legend, this goes back to the crusading knight Wipert von Morin. The castle of the von Morin was located northeast of Ludorf, towards the Müritz and was abandoned after the Thirty Years' War. The castle hill with its surrounding moat (signpost "Turmhügel") still bears witness to it today.
The manor church was built by a crusader returnee, the knight Wipert von Morin, who brought the idea for the octagonal church with him from the Holy Land. Unique in northern Germany, it has the same floor plan as the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem. Consecrated in 1346, it is believed to be a good 150 years older.
Remarkable is also the annexed family tomb of the von Knuths, built in 1736 by the hereditary lord of Ludorf and Gneve, Adam Levin II von Knuth, and equipped with a total of 9 well-preserved oak coffins. On the wrought-iron crypt door and on the walls there are numerous coats of arms of the married family members. The church can be visited daily, in the winter months only by appointment.